I took a trip to Ireland almost two years ago and it was one of the best trips I’ve ever taken. I spent a few days in Dublin (and if you want to see some of my favorite places check it out at The Wander Plan) and I could have stayed many more. One of the most enjoyable things to do in Ireland is spend some time in pubs. Yes, they’re bars, but they’re also not bars. It’s more comparable to a communal living room with beer. There are kids and food and characters of all sorts and delicious Guinness, which is truly better in Ireland. I met some great people and even in pubs in the touristed area of Temple Bar (which was full of Irish people as well) there are some must visit places, and no place is better for hearing traditional Irish music than in a pub. Below are some favorite spots for sipping a beer, or three, in Dublin. There’s so many great pubs in the city I couldn’t include them all. Tell me your favorites in the comments section!

The Temple Bar

Stag’s Head Pub

Davy Byrnes

“He entered Davy Byrnes. Moral Pub. He doesn’t chat. Stands a drink now and then. But in a leap year one in four. Cashed a cheque for me once.”                 James Joyce from Ulysses.

John Mulligan Pub

Frank McCourt in Mulligan's. Photo: Iowa Public TelevisionFrank McCourt in Mulligan’s. Photo: Iowa Public Television

John Kavanagh (aka Gravedigger’s Pub)

The Long Hall

The Palace Bar

The Brazen Head est. 1198

Photos of The Brazen Head, Dublin
This photo of The Brazen Head is courtesy of TripAdvisor

